Looks are meant to be deceiving….

Body image 2

 

I have been debating with myself about writing this blog  a l o t.  I have been thinking about how

my sense of my own body image came about. It started when I was about 5 years old.

I didn’t play outside, I played in the kitchen with my grandmother. I was her taste tester

for vetkoek, new cooking ideas, pumpkin fritters.  If she created something new, I was

sitting right at the kitchen table to test it, taste it. I was allowed to do the dishes

which there were mountains of, but I enjoyed the experience of being with her

and experiencing every taste possible.

So I grew to be a little telly tubby. I was short with green eyes and  curly unruly hair and a tongue that

cut through all the bullshit. You can see, I was the ugly duckling.

My mother did battle with my hair everyday, she wanted it flat and well

curls just don’t want to be tamed.

She dressed my sister and I in the same outfit, my sister looked thin.

I naturally looked plump.

People easily judged me because I was plump, fat, obese, out of shape and the list goes on.

So, I adapted to people judging me on the scene! guess what?

They still do.

I don’t  mind anymore because I LOVE ME!

I wake up every morning to do yoga, pray, meditate and go walking.

I feel strong. I feel I can do anything I choose to do.

I feel that my tummy isn’t just the ONE part of me.

I am who I am.  I am happy.

The people who instantly judge, don’t matter.

You matter. 

SO, I keep listening to my Inner Voice and I keep loving me.

All my love.

Colleen

One thought on “Looks are meant to be deceiving….

  1. Pingback: Looks are meant to be deceiving....

Leave a Reply

